Sounding Board

Need Stethoscope to link to my CI

Enquiry: I am a student nurse preparing to take my blood pressure and cardio exam. The issue is that I am also deaf and wear a hearing aid in my one ear and a Freedom cochlear implant in the other. As part of the exam I will be required to listen out for heart rhythms etc. I was hoping you could help me source a stethoscope that was compatible with my cochlear implant. I have looked at some electronic versions, but they all seem to be in the States and not in the U.K.

Reply: Thanks for your interesting enquiry. The frequencies of greatest interest when listening through a stethoscope to the sounds of the heart and lungs (ie auscultation )are 20 to 1,000Hz, and heart sounds typically fall in the frequency range 20-200Hz. So of course if you do not have normal hearing, depending on your type of hearing loss as you have said an ordinary stethoscope will be to no avail.

Now there are products on the market which will amplify the sounds picked up by the stethoscope. Electronic stethoscopes are commercially available which do this. These can be linked to your hearing aid or cochlear implant using blue tooth or the telecoil. However if you are considering linking it to your hearing aid it is vital to consider that hearing aids do not typically accommodate the full range of required sounds of auscultation. Only a very small number of hearing aids on the market provide acoustical frequency response down below 125Hz.